The Olympics

Can I tell you how excited I am about the Olympics?  SUPER-EXCITED!!!  I love the Olympics for a variety of reasons but mostly because they feature several of my favorite sports, including gymnastics and diving.  And leading up to the Olympics are the U.S. Olympic Trials.  During a period of time the primary sports on television are baseball (and don’t get me wrong, I LOVE baseball) and soccer (U-S-A! U-S-A!), it’s nice to have a bit of variety.  Oh, and by the way…watching the men’s diving provides some nice eye candy.

I keep reading about whether Rio is ready to host the Olympics and concerns regarding unsanitary water, serious money issues, and the Zika virus.  And I have included links to places where you can read more about it (or just do a simple internet search and you’ll find lots of information).

This is not meant to be a gloom and doom post.  As most of the articles I’ve read seem to point out, each city that hosts the Olympics has had its share of problems (although perhaps not to this extent).  And I tend to be a bit of a Pollyanna in that I prefer to focus on the positives…like the divers…and those abs…

But I digress…what was the point of this? Oh, yes…the U.S. Olympic trials.  An afternoon where it’s too warm to be in the kitchen is best spent watching some of the best athletes the U.S. has to offer compete for a spot on the U.S. Olympic team.  It’s amazing to see their years of hard work and sacrifice culminate in a dream.  I love watching the joy in the eyes of the families who have sacrificed over the years to make this dream happen.  And yes, I’m the one tearing up at all the commercials (sniff…sniff) with the athletes and parents.

So I’m comfortably ensconced on my couch watching to see who are the next U.S. Olympians.

 

 

Leave a Reply

